Browser Incompatibility on JobsDB

Okay, my first post seems to be an ire about the job-seeking website JobsDB, which is very, very annoying. I’m just stating the facts here, and so came my feedback quoted below. These might not seem much, but the things are:

  • They do not support browsers other than Internet Explorer
  • They are not (X)HTML, CSS, and even JavaScript standards-compliant
  • I remembered that somehow they stated that they were going to support other browsers years before

So, here is my “Contact Us” post:

Hi all,

I would like to write to you about the incompatibility of the web application that you are serving on NON-INTERNET EXPLORER browsers. Please do consider time to re-develop most parts of the website (if not all) to cater to other browsers as well. (MSIE is not the only browser, you know) Bear in mind that Internet Explorer has more security caveats than open source browser, even against the WebKit engine used by Safari and Konqueror. (As an additional point, Windows is not the only operating system in this world) You guys better start testing your web app for standards compatibility for (X)HTML, CSS and even JavaScript. I know you guys work under the assumption that “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it”, which is rather untrue, because the site is broken on all other browsers.

I suggest you start small, try redeveloping some parts of the site and testing them under other community-supported, standards-based browsers, like Mozilla Firefox and Opera.

If you also need the services of a third-party, open-source app developer/consultant, I’ll be able to give you contacts from the people I know.

Thank you.

O.J. Tibi

And I’ve also added a post script:

Hi all (again),

Would like to add a PostScript on my last note:

You said that you were going to support other browsers before, but that was YEARS ago… And people have been waiting for years…

Sheesh, come on JobsDB.

~ by ojtibi on July 4, 2008.

2 Responses to “Browser Incompatibility on JobsDB”

  1. Hello OJ, i came across the jobsdb site and it is now compatible with other browsers. i tried it with Firefox, Opera and Safari. I they did a soft launch for this – that’s why they did not inform everyone.

    i dunno man.. check it if it’s really 100% multibrowser now.

  2. Thanks Choi, will check it again on my spare time. Currently, I’m using JobStreet’s services more than JobsDB, partly because of the incompatible JavaScript methods on JobsDB PH. I’ll see if there are new features for JobsDB.

Leave a Reply

 
